http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/05/21/a-richer-life-by-seeing-the-glass-half-full/

Read “A Richer Life by Seeing the Glass Half Full” by Jane Brody & answer the following questions and post

  1. Are you an optimist or a pessimist? Explain
  2. Do you ever try to be more optimistic?
  3. What do you do to accomplish a brighter feeling?
  4. What advice would you give to someone trying to be more positive?
  5. Do you think a person’s proclivity for optimism or pessimism is because of genetics, life experience or a combination of both?
  6. Can optimism be a bad thing?
  7. Do you agree that at times it’s better to “fake it until you make it” regarding optimism? When have you ever used such a strategy, if ever? Did it work?
  8. What do you think is healthy about whichever attitude you possess?
  9. What might be some benefits to viewing life from the opposite perspective?
  10. What song or film would you recommend to brighten up your mood? Explain
This entry was posted in Psychology. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/05/21/a-richer-life-by-seeing-the-glass-half-full/

  1. bobbiwilkins says:

    Hi, Mrs Johnson its me Bobbi Wilkins
    I am a Optimist beacuse when things go wrong i look at the postives that can come out of it and what i can do to make a positive chnage or accomplishment come out of it .
    NO, i dont try to be more optmistic because i feel that you need to think positive but also understand when yur doing or something is going wrong and a situation your dealing with.
    The advice i would give would be try to look at bad situations and a different perspective if your being hard on your slef would good would you being doing to your self. If your negaitive all the time then neagitive things will come out beacuse you did try for the best or put your best effort in.
    I think more of life experinces then gentics , if you see people around you lashing out about things their going through then you thinks its ok for you to do it also, your surrounding effect your decisions alot if you have people that optimistic around you you will see your slef doing it also.
    I think if your extremly optimistic then yes cause you will never see your wrong in a situation and that can effect you and the people around you
    I this the “fake it until you make it” its kinda useless how can you fake being optimistic when your really feeling an different way inside
    i Think its heathly to be postive, alot times when people lose hope it doesnt help them but when you keep that belif in you will accomplish then postive things will come out of it .
    The film i would recommend would be THE BUCKET LISt Beacuse these two men have been told that basicaly there going to die soon so they made a list about all the things the wish and wanted to do and did them untill they past on and even tho they we dieing they had this positive spirt that kept them happy and alive for a while .

  2. Jake King says:

    Jake king

  3. Kai Smith says:

    Hi, Ms. Johnson
    1. I am an optimist because I believe being optimistic can push you forward in life and see the positive even when your going through tough times.
    2. Yes, I try to be more and more optimistic.
    3. To accomplish a better feeling I would work harder to reach my goal and make things better for myself.
    4. I would say to them, don’t be so negative try to see the more positive things in life.
    5. I believe it can a combination of both.
    6. Yes optimism can also be a bad thing because you could be over confident at times.
    7. I don’t agree because just faking it would just make it worst and I say this because you wouldn’t be yourself. This could lower your confidence. I’ve used this strategy during school or a test. The strategy did not work.
    8. Being optimistic is healthy because I would always look on the positive side and not be down on myself with no confidence. This will also affect the people around us like our friends and family because we could be influencing them and getting them through difficult times.
    9. Even though I am optimistic, sometimes I have to be a pessimist in order to see the reality in life.
    10. The song I would recommend to brighten up my mood is “Chris Brown- turn up the music” and I picked this song because this song is very energizing and exciting, makes me want to dance.

    Sincerely,
    Kai Smith

  4. Armani says:

    1. I am closer to being an optimist because I always think that things are going to get better.
    2. I always try to be more optimistic because pessimism is too dreary for my tastes.
    3. I try to be better at whatever I do
    4. Taking things one step at a time and not obsessing over things four steps ahead is important.
    5. It would be difficult to say that genetics has nothing to do with it as unfair as it is, but experiences are still more important.
    6. If you do something without thinking about what you’re doing, and expect everything to come out okay regardless that optimism can cause problems.
    7. When you don’t want to be pessimistic, but can’t find any optimism inside then what else can you do? I have tried at times but it doesn’t really help much.
    8. Optimism keeps you from being held back by past events, and helps you to move forward no matter what horror or wonder awaits you.
    9. Pessimism keeps you grounded in reality and prepared to deal with the worst outcome.
    10. Green Day – Boulevard of Broken Dreams – This song brings back memories from my childhood so even though I hated it then I like it now. It also talks about this person who has failed a lot, but is still walking forward hoping for things to change.

  5. Derian Urena says:

    Hello Ms. Johnson. It is Derian Urena.
    1. I am an optimist because I use setbacks and mistakes to make myself stronger and move on with life. “People learn from their mistakes”, is the phrase I use when negative things happen.
    2. No, i do not try to be more optimistic.
    3. What I do to accomplish a brighter feeling is think of positive things and talk to certain people keep me motivated.
    4. The advice I would tell someone to be more positive is keep moving forward and not think of the small negative things because then it will become a huge problem so just be happy.
    5. A person’s proclivity on optimism and pessimism is passed on by genetics because some people have optimism and pessimism in them once they are born from their parents.
    6. Optimism is not a bad thing because it shows some people still want to live and are not going to let little negative things bother them and just learn from them.
    7. No, its not better at time to “fake it until you make it” because might as well just keep going until you make it because if you fake it you might lose you chance at making it. No I have not tried this strategy.
    8. What’s healthy about these attitudes is you got it passed down from genetics and everybody has different perspectives on life.
    9. Some benefits would be none because a pessimist waits for the worst and that’s not good.
    10. The song I would use to brighten up my mood is “You-Romeo Santos” because it reminds me of my girlfriend. Shes always there for me and gives me great advice.
    -Derian

  6. kirstenmendieta says:

    1. I am optimistic. I am able to see the positives instead of the negatives. I believe things always get better, no matter what the situation is.
    2. Yes! I try to be more optimistic everyday. Having a positive attitude makes you a happier person.
    3. To accomplish a brighter feeling I motivate myself to be better at everything I do and to always try my absolute best.
    4. Advice I would give to someone trying to be more positive is to always smile and to never doubt them self.
    5. I think a persons proclivity for optimism or pessimism is because of life experiences. Events that occur in our life shape us to be the person that we are in the way we act and the way we think. If negative things always happen, well always have a negative view on the world, and vice versa.
    6. Optimism can be a bad thing. Sometimes we are positive about something and it doesn’t turn out the way we had hoped. The cons about being optimistic is having our hopes up and being let down sometimes.
    7. No I do not agree that at times it’s better to “fake it until you make it”. Be genuine in the way you look at or handle situations. So no, I have never used this strategy.
    8. Being optimistic will allow you to get somewhere in life. Being optimistic and positive, will make you a more confident person. If you’re always being negative no one’s going to want to associate themselves with you.
    9. Well even an optimistic individual can be a bit pessimistic at times. A benefit to viewing life from the opposite perspective is being hit with reality checks sometimes.
    10. A song I would recommend to brighten up the mood would be Little Wonders by Rob Thomas. It reminds people to keep moving forward.
    -Kirsten Mendieta

  7. pierce hili says:

    Hi Ms. Johnson this is Pierce Hili
    1.I am an optimist. I feel this way because I am in a good place right now. I feel that I always try to do as much work as I can.
    2.I don’t try to be more optimistic.
    3.To accomplish a brighter feeling, usually I finish my homework and going out. Finishing my homework is important to me because you need to do your homework to get go Good grades. If you don’t do your homework, your grades will suffer. Going out is also important to me. Everyone needs to have time to go out with friends. Sooner or later, you’re going to need a break.
    4.I would give a few pieces of advice to someone trying to be more positive. My first piece is to take the things you are able to control and make them work out for you. It is pointless to worry about the things you don’t have control over. That will just cause you more stress. Another piece of advice is to stay positive. Everyone goes through rough times, some more than others but if you stay positive, it won’t get to you. My final piece of advice is to surround yourself with good people. If you are around negative people, that negative energy is going to rub off on you.
    5.I think a person’s proclivity towards optimism or pessimism is based off both life experience and genetics. I feel life experience plays a role because different things happen to different people. Something might happen to an individual that would cause them to be an optimist or pessimist. I also feel that genetics plays a role because if one of your parents is a optimist or pessimist, there is more of a chance that you will be to from the genes you receive. It can run in the family.
    6.I don’t think that optimism can be a bad thing. If you are an optimist, you try to get more done than you are able to. While trying to accomplish this goal, you are working hard so it is achieved. Even if you do not reach your goal, a lot of work has been done. You still did something very productive.
    7.I feel that it is not good to “fake it until you make it” regarding optimism. You would be pretending to accomplish something that you really didn’t. You would be lying to yourself.
    8.I think it is healthier to be optimistic. I feel this way because if you are a pessimist you are always unhappy. No one wants to be around someone who is always unhappy.
    9.Some benefits from viewing life from the optimistic point of view are that you see the potential in everything and that you are generally happier. Just being optimistic put you into a better mood. There is less negative in your life.
    10.To brighten up my mood, I would suggest watching the documentary “When God Grew Tired of Us”. At time in the documentary, there is a lot of sadness, but the documentary makes you feel thankful for what you already have. It also shows you not to give up, just like how the Africans did in the documentary when they were at probably the lowest point in their lives.

  8. armandoperez96 says:

    1. I am an optimist because I see the positive in situations that go wrong or bad.
    2. No, I am not always trying to be more optimistic.
    3. To accomplish a brighter feeling I always try to think positive.
    4. I would tell them to do what makes them happy and be more positive in every decision they make.
    5. I would have to say it’s a combination of both.
    6. Optimism can be a bad thing if you are too much of it because it would affect your decisions and the way you think.
    7. I don’t believe it’s better to fake it until you make it because you are showing something you are not and in the end you will just hurt yourself, and no I have not used this strategy.
    8. I believe it is healthy to be optimistic because if something goes wrong you don’t bring yourself down and that positivity will keep you motivated.
    9. Being pessimist would be good but to some extent because it helps you deal with the reality in your life.
    10. The song to brighten up my mood is Ambition by Wale because it’s saying to not give up even with the difficulties in life and to try hard to accomplish your goal.

    • mjsevensins says:

      Well I watch the video Ambition and read the lyrics – I did not feel very optimistic but rather more angry as if people do not have power to change their course – seemed very fatalistic – Perhaps you can enlighten me

  9. jamericagurl says:

    Hi Ms. Johnson, it’s Kemora Adams.
    I am more of an optimist than I am a pessimist. There are few moments in my life that i feel that it’s inevitable for me to only think of negative outcomes, but majority of the time I have a optimistic attitude. I do try to be more optimistic because i notice when i do try my whole mood does transition from a negative mood to a positive one and it changes the way I feel and act towards people. To accomplish a brighter feeling, I listen to positive and up-beat music on my ipod to help me feel better. The advice I would give to someone trying to be more positive is not to dwell on the negative things in life, don’t get involved with drama( stay neutral), and do what makes them happy. A person’s proclivity for optimism or pessimism is based on life experiences because you can only be with or against something/someone based on life experiences. I don’t think genetics has anything to do with it. Yes, optimism can a be a bad thing in CERTAIN situations. Some people use optimism for false hope and the outcome is never as expected. I do agree at times that it is better ” faking it until you make it” because sometimes you have deceive yourself into believing you can do it. Eventually faking the optimism will no longer be faking it will just be you because at a certain point you will believe in yourself that faking will no longer be required. I have used this strategy when studying for a class and the method does work. Being a optimist is healthy for your mind and others around you. Your attitude does effect others around you whether you like it or not. Being optimistic releases stress and any other negative thing in your life. Some benefits of being a pessimist is always being aware of the outcomes of a situation and being able to view life’s realities. The song i would recommend that brightens up my mood is Smile- Kirk Franklin. The song basically says to always have a positive attitude when your going through something or even when the weather is depressing.

    • mjsevensins says:

      How you approach the world can make or break you – and the fact you realize just how you can shift gears the world changes in front of you – I really appreciate that you understand the power you have over your emotions

  10. daniaidette says:

    Hi Mrs. Johnson , it’s Daniella Encalada

    1. I am an optimistic person because when bad things happen its not the end of the world. In life you have to fall down to get up twice as strong.
    2. At times yes, I do try to be more optimistic. I’ve learned that in life this happen and you have to live your life the way you want to plus, the only one thats going to take you to your future is yourself.
    3. To accomplish a brighter feeling I think about my little brother. He’s one of the few people to can put a smile on my face just with a hug or laugh.
    4. The advice i would give to someone trying to be more postive is just to keep going. The road gets bumpy at times but you have to get right back up and follow your dreams and what you want to do.
    5. I think a persons’s proclivity for optimism or pessimism is because of life experiences. I say this because what happens to you in the past makes you who you are in the future.
    6. No, i personally dont think optimism can be a bad thing.
    7. No, I do not believe in to “fake it until you make it.” You shouldn’t just fake something, should always strive in what you want to do no matter what the situation is.
    8. Optimism is healthy because you go 4 steps forwards instead of 40 steps backward.
    9. Being pessimistic are hardly none.
    10. Game Over by Daley is a song that brightens up my day because the lyrics themselves are pretty touching and remind me of a special somebody.

  11. clairemck87 says:

    Hi ms. johnson , its claire McKenna
    1. I am an optimist and a pessimist because I try to look on the brighter side about things and be more motivated and positive. it makes a better difference on your personality. but at times i have low self esteem and can not be very confident about myself.
    2. sometimes i try to be more optimistic to cheer up my friends but in certain situations you cant.
    3. to accomplish a brighter feeling , i would work hard and set out for my goal. it makes a huge difference in your life.
    4. people would usually say that starving kids in other countries are wishing to have your life so you shouldn’t be so negative , but it doesn’t mean your problems don’t matter. i would tell my friend to take a break and travel for a different view for a change, it makes you feel less stressful.
    5. i believe its a combination of both.
    6. yes being a optimist can be a bad thing because you could be a little conceited at times.
    7. sometimes, i think you have to “fake it till you make it “. To me this is not me being fake , it means acting like you are successful or happy or whatever your goal is and when you are positive you attract positive energy which is a result of positive things.
    8. its healthy to be optimistic because if you are positive , you will have positive things happen to you as a result.
    9. you will have to be both but more positive in order to understand or relate to some situations.
    10. listening to indie music brightens up my mood. such as bon iver or mgmt.
    -Claire McKenna

    • mjsevensins says:

      You have so much going for you I can’t believe you experience low self-esteem at times – but yes we all do. It is how we respond to that which can make or break us
      Thank you for sharing – Try to expand on your answer from now on –

  12. clairemck87 says:

    Hi ms. johnson , its claire McKenna
    1. I am an optimist and a pessimist because I try to look on the brighter side about things and be more motivated and positive. it makes a better difference on your personality. but at times i have low self esteem and can not be very confident about myself.
    2. sometimes i try to be more optimistic to cheer up my friends but in certain situations you cant.
    3. to accomplish a brighter feeling , i would work hard and set out for my goal. it makes a huge difference in your life.
    4. people would usually say that starving kids in other countries are wishing to have your life so you shouldn’t be so negative , but it doesn’t mean your problems don’t matter. i would tell my friend to take a break and travel for a different view for a change, it makes you feel less stressful.
    5. i believe its a combination of both.
    6. yes being a optimist can be a bad thing because you could be a little conceited at times.
    7. sometimes, i think you have to “fake it till you make it “. To me this is not me being fake , it means acting like you are successful or happy or whatever your goal is and when you are positive you attract positive energy which is a result of positive things.
    8. its healthy to be optimistic because if you are positive , you will have positive things happen to you as a result.
    9. you will have to be both but more positive in order to understand or relate to some situations.
    10. listening to indie music brightens up my mood. such as bon iver or mgmt , it really calms me down and helps.
    -Claire McKenna

  13. Heeeeeeey Mrs. Johnson, its me Jeanette 🙂

    1. I would most definitely say that i am an optimist because i always see the positive in things. i never look at the negative because if you look at life negatively than u will always be depressed and never live your life joyfully.
    2. Yes, i try to be more optimistic every day of my life because at one point or another in your day there will be something that happens that can have a negative affect on you. If u see the positive in it than your more opt to have a better day.
    3. To accomplish a brighter feeling I would work very hard in school and try my best to get excellent grades. It makes me feel better to know that my parents’ money are going to good use and it makes me feel really nice to know that i worked hard to get the grades that i received.
    4. The advice i would give to someone trying to be more positive is to make sure to know that with bad theres always good. So if your in a situation where for example u failed a test , don’t get mad, rip the test up and say your dumb , think of it this way: everyone will always have a day where they don’t study and they end up failing a test. Take that as a lesson and make sure for the next test you take you study, your sure to get a passing grade.
    5. I think a person’s proclivity for optimism or pessimism is a combination of both genetics and life experiences. The reason i say that is because if you live with people who are negative/positive all the time and thats what your always use to seeing when your home, you most likely will end up being pessimistic/optimistic because the people your always around think in that way. It could also be life experiences. Sometimes life can really throw you a hard ball and some people can’t get back up from their hard fall. Some people would take that negatively and because of that experience they would consider everything in a pessimist way. Others see that as a way of making them stronger.
    6. I think optimism can be bad thing because if you always see things in a positive light , you probably will never learn from your mistakes. Its okay to be a pessimist when learning from your mistakes because your negative about it and you know you’ve done wrong.
    7. I don’t agree that at times you should “fake it until you make it” because that’s not being positive. Your not true to yourself and to others. Its not a truthful way of going about and optimists will always be realists because even when they hit a hard rock in life , instead of “faking it” they will work hard to get to where they wanna be.
    8. I think that when your an optimist you see things in a more positive light and you live life much better and much more real than a pessimist would. When your a pessimist , whenever you make mistakes you realize your wrong not saying that optimist’s don’t realize their wrongs, but pessimist’s beat themselves up more about it which can be a good thing in some cases because it can definitely help u get better because of how disappointed you would be with yourself.
    9. Some benefits of seeing life through the opposite perspective (pessimist) is that when you see life through a negative light most of the times its the more realistic life and theres nothing wrong with being realistic and also i find that pessimists are way more competitive than the optimists. The optimists just expect to win.
    10. Smile- Kirk Franklin, i recommend this song because through my ruff times, when I’m down and i don’t want to talk to anyone, this song puts a smile on my face and brightens my mood up so much . This song has never failed in putting a smile on my face and i definitely recommend it.

  14. lizdrizzle says:

    hey ms.johnson its lisette valladares,
    1. I am a optimis because i see my mistakes and setbacks as events that can help me learn from my mistakes. I also try to always see the positive out of a bad situtation and i always expect the positve out of something.
    2. Yes i do try to be more optimistic, and have a more positive view on things and a more positive adittude.
    3. What i do to accomplish a brighter feeling is that i try to look at the bright side of things and tell myself that things will get better.
    4. The advice i would give someone trying to be more postitive is that i would tell them things are going to get better, that they should focus on the positive things that are going on in their lives instead of the negative things.
    5. I think a persons proclivity for optimism or pessimism is because of genetics and life experience because you could have picked up habbits of someones character and because i believe that your life expierences make you who you are, and can effect the way you view things.
    6. Yes i think that optimism can be a bad thing because someone can think anything that they do even if its something bad might be okay and view it as something positive, or people might be to care free.
    7. I disagree that at times it’s better to “fake it until you make it” regarding optimism because it can make the situtation worse and you might not get to express your true feelings about the situation. I used this strategy with peer pressuare and it did not work because it made me feel like i was someone who i truly wasnt and i was just lying to myself and others.
    8. I think that whats healthy about being a optimis is that you are never mad or sad all the time you enjoy things emotionaly and thats good for your mentality and self being.
    9. Some benefits to viewing life from the opposite perspective, would be that instead of being a optimis i would be a pessimist and I would probably be more cautious with desicions i make and i will also be expecting the worst and not really get suprised or bothered with negative stuff.
    10. A song i would listen to to brighten up my mood is Pursuit of Happiness by Kid Cudi, because it makes me realize that even something negative can turn out to something positive.

  15. Dylan Scigliano says:

    Hi Ms. Johnson this is Dylan Scigliano
    1. I am an optimist because I simply have no time for negativity in my life it slows people down.
    2. I try to be more optimistic every day keeps the positive energy flowing throughout the day.
    3. I usually pump iron in order to accomplish a brighter feeling each day.
    4. I would tell the person to simply be more positive, i would also tell him to the more positive a person is the better their life will be.
    5.Its got to do with life experience. If a child wakes up and sees his father drinking a beer and his mother shooting up crack of course the kid is going to be negative all the time. If the child wakes up every morning and gets a “goodmorning” from his family he’l be positive all day.It’s that simple. Genetics has nothing to do with it.
    6. No its impossible to be a bad thing.
    7. I never used that stratagy in my 16 years living.
    8. I wake up every morning and make the day great no matter what happens i stay possitive i have no time to sit and whine about things.
    9. There ar no benefits from viewing life different from me.
    10. A Bronx Tale, it reminds me of my childhood and how i grew up and the people i grew up with.

  16. Michael Drobenko says:

    Hello Ms Johnson, this is Michael Drobenko
    1. I am and optimist because I think if you are always positive nine out of the ten times something good will happen. But you should not get very disappointed if something bad happens because something always bad happens once in a while.
    2.Yes, I do sometimes try to be more optimistic. The only times I try to be more optimistic is when I am golfing and in school.
    3. I just try my best and always stay positive. But there are times when I do just give up.
    4. Strangely a lot of people ask me for advice. I usually just say go with your heart, take the negative comments people say to you to help you get motivated so in the end you can prove them wrong, and always be passionate.
    5. I would say it may be a combination of both but mostly because of life and experiences.
    6. Yes, optimism can and may be a bad thing. For instance someone may be hoping for something bad to happen.
    7. No, I do not agree with that saying because if you do not like something in the beginning you should not wait until the end because you will always be in a bad mood. I sometimes use strategies in school and sports but usually it does not work in school. Some people might say use a different strategy then; but that does not always work either.
    8. I think it is healthy to be negative in some situations but in most situations you should always be positive.
    9. Some benefits of looking at things in a negative way are not going to jail, and getting killed.
    10. The song I listen to to brighten up my mood is “Good Day” by “Nappy Roots”. I listen to this song every morning before i start my day. This song always makes me think it is going to be a good day and stay positive and when I do this my day always turns out to be a good one.

  17. sabrinamendoza says:

    Hi Ms. Johnson,
    1. I am an optimist because I always look at the positive side even if things are bad and I believe even when you think good, positive things will happen.
    2. Yes, I try to be more optimistic but so much goes on in my mind at once, that it gets difficult.
    3. What I do to accomplish a brighter feeling is to believe that things are going to get better and always might listen to some dance music that would help.
    4. The advice I would give is to look on the bright side of everything, not to think so much about the situation and bring yourself to a peaceful set of mind.
    5. Mostly because of life experiences because it can change your whole view on things and can somewhat traumatize you.
    6. Optimism can be a bad thing because you will not know what negativity is. Also when things don’t go the way you expected you might get depressed.
    7. It is not better to fake it until you make it because you might never make it. So faking it would be a waste.
    8. Being optimistic is healthy because it keeps me ecstatic and shows what kind of person I am, which can brighten up other peoples day or mood.
    9. Some benefits of viewing from the other perspective is that when something happens you are prepared for the bad outcome. It will not shock you nor put you down.
    10. The song I recommend to brighten up my mood is “we all try” by Frank Ocean because he says “I just don’t believe were wicked, I know we sin but I do believe we try”. The message he tries to give the listeners is that we all should believe and be positive because we all do try although you might lose faith at times but you must believe in something. This song gives me goosebumps because everything he sings about is relevant.
    – Sabrina Mendoza

  18. Michael Di Angelo says:

    1-I am a optimist because I try and see the good when things go wrong.
    2-Yes I try to be more optimistic.
    3-I try to be more positive and do the right thing.
    4- I would tell them to try and be more positive. I would tell them and try and see what good has came out of the situation.
    5-I believe it is a combination of both
    6-Yes optimism can be a bad thing because some people would think something positive will come out of anything even if it’s negative.
    7-I think this statement is false because why would you fake being optimistic. If you are feeling a certain way you shouldn’t try and play it off making it seem like your happy.
    8-I think being optimistic is healthy because you are not always mad at something or sad you are genuinely happy and always looking for the good in something.
    9-I don’t think there would be any because I like being positive and being a pessimist basically means you’re not really happy
    10- I chose let live day 54 because it makes me happy.
    -Michael Di Angelo

  19. John Shand says:

    Hi Ms. Johnson. It is John Shand,
    1. I am a pessimist. I see things for either the way they are or predict the worse case scenario and then try to alter the outcome. Most of the time I see things rarely positive due to the global economy and things like that.
    2. No i don’t try to be optimistic because it isn’t who i am.
    3. Most of the time I just listen all genres of music.
    4. Some advice I would give to someone that is trying to be more positive is simply to get a lot of sunlight. The sun is a very mood lifting in some cases.
    5. I think a person’s proclivity for optimism or pessimism is a little of both because it depends on the type of environment you were brought up in as an infant and you could be born with a natural negative or positive attitude.
    6. Optimism can be a bad thing depending on the situation occurring.
    7. I have never done this before if I did I would probably say its a bad idea because lying will come back to you eventually and it is when you are most vulnerable it will catch you.
    8. As a pessimist I would say for me, I use my mind a lot more. I do a lot of thinking and analyzing so I would say it gives me extra brain activity.
    9. View on life from the opposite side would probably be more positive or even a more out-going approach towards society and the environment.
    10. The song “Jessica” from The Allman Brothers Band. This song lifts my spirits a little because it reminds of my younger days playing guitar hero.

    • M johnson says:

      Somehow i did not see any of my students listening to one of the first bands I saw in concert 🙂 – Is pessimism a choice or do you think that is just who you are?

  20. 1. I would claim myself to be a optimist, because i always try to look at everything “glass half full” as they say. However I don’t block out the negative things in life, I know when to be realistic, and I don’t try to sugar coat the truth.
    2.I sometimes try to be more optimistic. It depends on the situation. For example if its to comfort my friends or family i always try to think of the best possible solution to make everyone happy.
    3. I like setting goals for myself, and achieving them in the time i want them achieved. I don’t like procrastination. If i set a goal and accomplish it in the time i set for myself i feel good.
    4. I would tell people to have hope, and to rely on their feelings and not to look at what society is doing, do what makes you happy.
    5.I believe it is both. People may inherit different personality trait and then they developed by society to make you either a optimist or pessimist
    6. Optimism can be a bad thing because you cant block off reality and live in a fantasy world where everything is always good. You will overlook problems that may need to be solved to ultimately make you happy.
    7. Sometime i think people worry too much, or over think things. So depending on the situation i think it is better to “fake it until you make it” in certain cases. Such as a little fight your having with a friend, sometimes its better to let go of the problem and not turn it into a bigger one by dwelling in it or making it bigger of a deal than it actually is.
    8. Being an optimist you live life stress free, and for the most part you are happy or trying to be happy.
    9. If you are a pessimist you are always prepared for the worst, so your never let down. On the other hand if you are prepared for the worst and result in the best you are pleasantly surprised.
    10. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BODHsU3hDo4&list=FLCliJXVbq–bISp1n0INjkQ&index=9&feature=plpp_video …. This video makes me feel greatful, happy, and optimistic

  21. Hello, Ms.Johnson. It’s STACEY AGUILAR 🙂
    1) I consider myself as optimistic because I have confidence and I have tendency to see the better things in life.
    2) I try to be optimistic because it helps throughout the day and i believe anything is possible.
    3) In my opinion, I motivate myself and work harder to accomplish a brighter feeling.
    4) My advice to give someone in trying to be more positive is to write down 3 good things that happen to you at the end of the day or to focus on being pleased with someone
    5) I think a person’s proclivity for optimism or pessimism is because of life experience. People can change your life experience and influence on what you think or feel about things in the future.
    6) No, optimism can’t be a bad thing because can take stress away from you and gives you a healthy lifestlye.
    7) No, I dont agree that at times it’s better to “fake it until you make it” regarding optimism because faking wont help knowing that it will bring more stress to yourself either way.
    When I was in the 8 grade, I used a strategy to write everthing that happened to me in a journal, even its bad or not. But yes, it did work because it made me think more about what I felt throughout my days.
    8) Yes I do think being optimistic is healthy because it brings the better in you. It helps you in any causes of the day, and helps you focus on the solutions you need to overcome the problem.
    9) Some benefits to viewing life from the opposite perspective is that I would get caught up in the moment that I wouldnt realize the worst outcome in the end.
    10) To brighten up my mood, would be music. This song “Whats my name?” by Rihanna makes me feel great inside and I feel I can do anything.

    Thank you!

  22. jasonjeansjp says:

    Hello Mrs.Jo! In case you haven’t noticed its Jason Jean.
    1.I am an optimist. I am an optimist because before my closest relative passed away he told me to “always live life the way you feel most comfortable, and always look at the bright side”.
    2. Yes I try to be more optimistic every day because I am without the guidance of my cousin and I continue to live on.
    3.The way I accomplish a better feeling is by, reflect on all of my successes and failures.
    4. The advice Id give to someone is to always look on the bright side of any situation and look forward to the future.
    5. A person’s proclivity for optimism or pessimism is judged by the experiences they go through as they age.
    6. Optimism is not bad because it allows a person to have “hope” no matter their situation.
    7. No I dont believe it is better to “fake it till you make it”. I haven’t ever done that because I believe in being real and truthful with myself.
    8.I think just having a view on life is positive, be it optimistic or pessimistic.
    9. I think it would be a “drag” to look at life on the opposite side
    10.I would use Wiz Khalifa’s “Role up”, because it has a message about getting away from your “significant other” when they are being an incredible downer, or unfaithful and roll up with that other person that makes you feel better.

  23. tyrellcosten says:

    1) I am a pessimist because i see situations for what they are. I see things in a sensible perspective. I dont put false hope in situations and try to see things realistically. Putting false hope in situations that you know will end negatively is setting you up to become disappointed and is foolish.
    2) Yes I do. I believe you can always learn a lesson from a situation and use to be more aware in life. I do try to see situations optimistically, but never fool myself in believing it will always end positively. If a situation is not completely in my control, I do not always believe it will end positively.
    3) I ask friends and family for advice on certain situations. I also pray sometimes.
    4) I would tell them to hope and pray for the best for whatever their situation may be. I would also give them my realistic opinion while not trying to bring their hopes down.
    5) I believe it from life experiences. If you grow up in a harsh environment or constantly surrounding by negativity, your bound to be like that in your future. Even if you grew up optimistically, there are always situations that will change your perspective on life. It is a part of maturing, you cant grow up to be a fool.
    6) Yes, it can. Believing in something that realistically will never happen is foolish. Your setting yourself up to be disappointed and wasting your time. If there is a slight hope that it can come true then you can be optimistic, but if you know that it wont happen then dont hold your breathe.
    7) It depends on the situation. In some cases it can be helpful to get an understanding of something, but if you know how its going to end then dont waste your time.
    8) I think its healthy to see things for what they are and not give false hope.
    9) If i were more optimistic i would have a brighter attitude about most things.
    10) Sports helps me calm down. Making and listening to music also helps clear my mind

  24. Edwin Revis Caban says:

    Hi ms.Johnson this is Edwin Caban sorry for responding late.
    1) I feel that i am an optimist because in life you should never think negatively and always be positive. If your not positive you wont get anything done and always want to give up in life. Since i am an athlete i feel it is important to be optimistic to keep yourself from giving up.
    2) I am optimisitc because i feel it is the best way to keep you going on the right track and keep ypu focused on your goals.
    3) I work very hard on my goals until i accomplish it and conquer what I need to get done. I will only feel good about myself if i succeed on what i need to get done and have a great performance in my baseball season and in life.
    4) I would tell that person that the only way to be positive in life is to be optimistic on things that are obstacles in life and work hard and keep trying until you finally overcome it. Also to ignore criticism from haters and have alone time with yourself to clear your mind and put yourself back on track.
    5) I feel that in order for someone to be optimistic or a pessimist you must have learned this through past experiences, maturing, talks with your parents and motivational things you have read from your role models. I learned to be optimistc from my family and reading books about my role models who had it harder than me and overcome all of their obstacles and made it to the “big stage”.
    6) No optimisim can never be a bad thing because it is always good to think positively and never give up in life. You can neverbe too optimistic in life.
    7) I dont agree with that becuase you should never fake success or be happy with failing because you will teach yourself to accept defeat and never be hungry enough to want to be ontop and succeed. You should only be happy with doing the right thing and overcoming obstacles.
    8) Being an optimist keeps people going in life and keeps you on track and never backing down from something that seems too hard.
    9) Some benefits could be seeing how quiters think and realizing thats a negative thing to put yourself in a situation to give up. Its good to see the way pessimists think to make you grateful that you arent like that and make you realize that you must stay focused to suceed.
    10) I actually would recommend reading Victor Cruz book called “Out of the Blue” because its very inspirational and is a perfeft example of someone who was criticized and put down but never gave up and is considered one of the best Wide Receivers in the game.

  25. 1. I am optimistic mainly because I like to see the best in life and make the best of every situation.
    2. When times are tough, or simply when I feel ‘upset’, yes I do try to be more optimistic to make everything easier.
    3. I like to accomplish goals and socialize with friends.
    4. Make the best of life, and don’t care what about people think of you.
    5. I think it is a combination of both, because you can be raised in a very ‘elegant’ household and act differently if you were raised in a household where family members are constantly fighting.
    6. If used with the wrong mindset then yes it could become a negative thing.
    7. No I don’t believe that it’s better to ‘fake it before you make it’, because if you aren’t being yourself you will most likely bring more issues and stress onto yourself.
    8. Being optimistic can definitely be a healthy thing because it can make your life less stressful and enjoyable which of course affects your mental health.
    9. Well being pessimistic can help you to avoid problems due to the fact that you will see everything that can go wrong when you are doing something.
    10. Music definitely has a huge affect on my mood, different types of music affect me in different ways,

    • mjsevensins says:

      Thank you for your comments . I would like you the next time put a bit more of you in your answers by expanding and providing examples to illustrate your response – I did want you to share a specific example of a song, film or event that makes you feel better – Rather than a general answer

  26. Jake King says:

    1. I am an optimist because even though something is bad i always find away to make it better.
    2. Yes, I always try to be more optimistic but mostly when im around my friends.
    3. To accomplish a brighter feeling i alway try to look at situations in a better way.
    4. I would tell them to just start to look at the good things in life and forget about the bad.
    5. I believe thats its how they grow up because thats whats has effect on your emotions.
    6. In a way yes because your blocking out all the bad that you need to know.
    7. I never realy used such a stradegy but if i did i think it would work.
    8. Well if you poss with more attitude it might cause stress which would effect your health.
    9. if viewed life from the oppisite prospective I would probly start caring more about my own problems.
    10. I would watch any movie that has ahappy ending because thats what would make me feel better.

    • mjsevensins says:

      Thank you for your comments . I would like you the next time put a bit more of you in your answers by expanding and providing examples to illustrate your response – I did want you to share a specific example of a song, film or event that makes you feel better – Rather than a general answer that you like to watch a movie with a happy ending – Most people do

    • mjsevensins says:

      Try to expand on your answers and proof your work – Thank you for sharing

  27. 1) I am an optimist because in a difficult time or situation I still look for the positives too overcome it to become a stronger minded person that can overcome anything.
    2) I always try to become more optimistic because I hate being that person that is always in bad mood so I try to be optimistic.
    3) What I do to try and achieve a better feeling is to try and knockout a few push-ups.
    4) I would recomend someone to do in order to be more positve is to put on a smile, because you really dont realize what a basic smile can do to someones day.
    5) I think it is because of both because some people are born with certain traits and if you grow up around certain things you pick up on it and it effects you personallity.
    6) Optimisum can be a bad thing if you are not reallistic and not true with yourself.
    7) I do not agree with “faking it until you make it ” because why should someone have to be something their not in order to make something of themselves, people should enjoy being who they are because their is only one you.
    8) I really do not know because everyone is different and some things can be said for some and not others.
    9) If I lived of the oppiste perspective I think I would have a different outlook on everything and maybe I would have a whole different change of attitude that can maybe be a good thing or bad.
    10) I don’t have just one song that puts me in a better place but more like a certain genre that I’m in the mood for at that exact time that puts me in a better place.

    -sorry it took so long

  28. nickbotero says:

    1) I am an optimist because i always try to find the positive in things . I never try to have negative energy follow me around because i never want to feel that i cant do something and being a basketball athlete i feel that its important to be an optimist because it keeps you going and not wanting to give up . No matter the situation i will always try to find the positive aspect in it .
    2) I always try to be optimistic even when i’m down or upset because i believe good things happen to good happen and things happen for a reason and i hate to be the person to be in a bad mood 24/7 . I always try my hardest to find something positive in the outcome of any situation .
    3) To get a brighter feeling i try to talk to certain people that can motivate me and that can tell me follow your dreams . Each and every day i try hard to focus on my goals and no matter what people say i will follow my dreams . To feel good and to have a brighter feeling i would need to succeed at all the hard work i put in school and basketball because there is no better feeling when hard work does pay off . I would only feel good only if i complete what needs to be done and i have a great basketball season outside of school and a great performance with my academics.
    4) The advice i would give to someone to be more positive is to be optimistic and to see the good in everything and don’t put effort in looking for the bad . I would tell that person to ignore all the haters because theirs always going to be someone to criticize in what you doing and no matter what to never give up on your dream .
    5) I feel that in order for someone to be optimistic or a pessimist you must have got it from past experiences , conversations from others and inspiration speeches or talks from your role model . I’ve learned to be optimistic from my family and from certain nba role models such as Micheal Jordan and Carmelo Anthony.
    6) I believe optimism can never be bad thing because being optimistic just keeps you moving forward and never looking back . It keeps you motivated and makes you not want to give up. I don’t think anybody would wanna be depressed all the time . I believe they would want positive energy to help keep moving forward .
    7) I don’t agree with that quote because i believe you shouldn’t have to fake being happy nor fake success . If you fake success then you would be happy accepting failure . You should be happy by being yourself cause theirs only one you and by doing the right things.
    8) I think being an optimistic is healthy because you will never have to back down from any challenge and you would think positive about everything that comes to you .
    9) Viewing things from the other perspective is a view i don’t wanna experience . I do not want to experience how quiters quit and why they do it . Its good to see things from another perspective because tha will prepare you for any bad outcome .
    10) A song that puts me in a better mood no matter what is the song Vado – Always on , because its about not giving up and always keep yourself motivated and to not listen to people when they say you can not make it.
    – sorry it took so long , Nick Botero

Leave a Reply

