“Social Media and Feeling Bad”

Taken From the NY Times, January 15

  1. Does Facebook ever make you feel bad?
  2. Does the popular social networking site sometimes make you feel like everyone else is having more fun than you? How does this make you feel?
  3. Do you ever look at pictures of the things other people are attending, like parties, hangouts or other social events, and feel left out? What impact does Facebook play in this?
  4. 09wadler-booming-facebook-blog480Similarly, do you pick and choose what you post on Facebook to show your friends how good your life is? – WHY OR WHY NOT?
  5. Do you ever decide to turn off Facebook because you’re tired of reading about how great everyone else’s life is? – EXPLAIN

Part II: Read FORBES 

  1. We all know Facebook is addicting but what were the true costs of this addiction?
  2. Why do you think females tend to be impacted more than males by Facebook?
  3. Why does the author compare Facebook to fashion magazines?
  4. One of the criticisms of Facebook is the potential impact on self-esteem and self-concept. What impact would your attributional style play in how Facebook impacts on self-esteem and self concept? See below on review of “Attribution Style”.

________________________________________________________________

Excerpt From Psych Central

Martin Seligman, a prominent psychologist in the positive psychology movement, has extensively researched what he calls attributional style. Individuals who are depressed exhibit a negative attributional style. They tend to consistently attribute negative events to sources that are internal, stable, and global. In other words, if something bad happens, a depressed person will typically think it’s their fault, it’s never going to change, and not only is this one event bad, but probably other similar events are going to be bad too.

On the flip side, individuals who exhibit a more positive explanatory style attribute their failures to causes that are external, unstable, and specific. Sure, something bad may have happened, but it was likely a one-time event that was strongly influenced by circumstances beyond the individual’s control.

 

 

This entry was posted in Psychology. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “Social Media and Feeling Bad”

  1. jamericagurl says:

    Hi Ms.Johnson its Kemora
    1. Yes, sometimes i do feel bad, but I feel bad for other people. There are certain posts that degrade, embarrass, and humilate people and i feel the pain/ fustration that that person may feel.
    2. Sometimes i do feel like everyone on popular socialnetworking sites are having more fun than and it makes me feel like i have boring life for a a couple minutes, but then i realize that my life is my own and not someone elses.
    3. Yes, I do and facebook promotes the idea of isolation.
    4. No, I have NEVER picked and chose what i posted on facebook becuase i honestly think it’s pathetic to try and out-do people or make it seem like your life is someting it isnt.
    5. When I am in a bad mood, i do turn my facebook off because i dont want to see pictures or read status’ about someone’s good life.

    PartII
    1. The true costs of the addiction were the significant decrease in young women’s self-esteem and comparisons between other people such as weight and looks.
    2. I think women are more impacted by status and pictures posted on facebook because women are more self- conscious.
    3. The author compares facebook to a magazine because facebook has a pictures where people comment on the picture and magazines do the same thing.

    • jamericagurl says:

      4. The impact my attributional style would impact my self-esteem and self-concept is that it wouldnt affect my life because i know who i am and i dont need facebook or anyone else telling me who i am

  2. krs95 says:

    Hi Ms. Johnson
    1) No Facebook never makes me feel bad because i never had a negative comment toward me. and if i did i wouldn’t put no mind because i believe that it is very childish for a person to have a fight through the internet plus i rarely go on my account.

    2) No the social networking site doesn’t make me feel like everyone else is having more fun than me because i don’t care what people do, also i am an out going person so i have a fun life with my friends and family. this makes me happy about my life.

    3) Yes sometimes when i look at pictures of my friends going to party’s and hangout does make me feel a little left out but after a while i realize that i also go and hangout with my friends so in a way i cheer my self up. the impact that Facebook play in this is that it make you seem that a group of people are having fun with out you.

    4) No i don’t post things on Facebook about my life or what i do because i think that its no point of putting pictures and comments about my life and and what i do.

    5)no i do not turn off my Facebook because I am tired of hearing peoples good life because i never put no mind and i see what i have like my family so i wouldn’t care what new things people have or how much money they have.

    Part 2

    1) The true cost of this addiction is mostly on women like the test show. womens compare them selves with other women’s like some examples are that when looking at other pictures young teenagers have body-consciousness compared to some of their friends. also other girls compare their life with other girls life’s.

    2) i think that females tend to be more impacted than men on facebook because women care more about their appearances and what people think about them then men do.

    3) the author compares facebook to a fashion magazine because it talks about peoples life and has pictures just like a magazine

    4) the impact that my attributional style whould play in how Facebook impacts on self-esteem and self concept is that my self-esteem wont go down on what people have to say about me.

    -Christian Inga

  3. Hey it’s Jason.

    1.) Not really, I don’t take anything that has been put to offend me seriously on Facebook mainly because the person saying it obviously doesn’t have the courage to tell me in person.

    2.) Depends, a while back I didn’t really go out as much, I was more introverted and stayed home a lot more; so when I saw people’s status’ and other people interacting and having a good time, I feel as if I’m wasting my life.

    3.) Not really, I’m not really the type of person who enjoys parties, I’d rather go out to the park or walk around with friends because I can have more fun with my friends than go to a party or event.

    4.) I don’t do it intentionally because I could care less about what people think about me.

    5.) No I just deactivate it to avoid various situations.

    Part II:

    1.) Women focus on their projections to others and compete/compare with other girls.

    2.) Yes and no, depending on the lifestyle of the person; however I can imagine that most guys are a lot LESS self conscious than most girls on Facebook.

    3.) Facebook is a virtual and interactive magazine.

    4.) It wouldn’t affect me simply because I could care less about what people think about me because in the end, you live for you not others.

  4. alexdicesa says:

    Alex Dicesa

    1) No, Facebook doesn’t make me feel bad mainly because a lot of people I know don’t really use Facebook anymore like they used to including myself. Facebook isn’t the same to me like it was four years ago.
    2) I’m going to say no mainly because people on Facebook doesn’t really show how much fun some of the friends you have on it have. Facebook now is something for example a girl talking about relationships or a guy talking about his sneakers. There really is no reason to feel like somebody else on Facebook is having more fun than you.
    3) Most people will feel left out if they see photos of their friends having a great time at a party or an event but most of the time there is a reason why you weren’t there. I don’t stress when I see these types of photos because I know there is always going to be a next time where I can have at a party or event. Facebook plays a semi-important role because somebody will make an event on Facebook for a party and you can see all the people who are attending and feel crappy cause you won’t be able to attend, but half of the times these events don’t even happen and half the people who put attending don’t even show up.
    4) I have an open mind when it comes to Facebook usually I’ll post whatever comes to mind whether it’s a song lyric, a TV show I’m currently watching, or just a personal experience I witness throughout the day. I don’t really brag about how good my life can be but than again there are those people who do. People don’t really use Facebook for this they now most likely use Twitter.
    5) I usually don’t check my Facebook I only do so from time to time or when I am really bored. I don’t really mind what people post about how great their lives are because I know either these people are lying or are trying to get other people jealous of their lifestyle. Of course there are the people who actually mean what they say about their lives but then again I just say to myself okay congrats.

    PART 2

    1) The true costs of addiction that Facebook can bring to a user Is that it can make you revolve your whole life around it. You can be on Facebook 24/7 like I was when I first started using it worrying about what your friends were doing or by constantly checking up on girl’s profile you had a crush on. It comes to the point where you spend every minute checking what others are saying or what the new trend is which can become very unhealthy. People will lose sleep just to stay on Facebook, which is just horrible and frightening.
    2) Females tend to be on Facebook more than males mainly because I feel Facebook is a place where a girl can express her true emotions. She gets to talk about her relationships or she posts pictures of herself to see how other people view her whether she’s attractive or not is what a girl constantly obsesses when she posts up picture. A great example is that a female will go all out to post a picture of herself only to a put caption saying something like, “not looking my best” when she knows she does she just wants the satisfaction of other people going against her caption because it makes her feel better.
    3) The author compares Facebook to magazines because the main purpose of magazines is for other people to see beautiful celebrities and makes the reader think too themselves why can’t they look like that certain celebrity? With Facebook a person can view all of the different beautiful people whether they are friends or acquaintances and make the user think the same thing they would with a magazine except they would probably find it much easier trying to look as good as a Facebook friend because that person is not famous.
    4) My attributional style is I’m a positive person when a negative situation occurs. Of course I am going to feel a certain type of mood when it occurs however for me I always look on the positive side and move on. Facebook constantly makes someone feel down whether if it’s they think everybody thinks you are ugly or laughing at you. Facebook can make you feel like crap for people however for my style of thought when it comes to Facebook is that I don’t tend to mind somebody living a better life than me or looking better than me. At first when I started using Facebook of course I felt jealous of these type of people but as I grew up I started caring less and just moving on from worrying about trying to look better than anyone else on facebook because Its childish.

  5. John Shand says:

    John Shand
    1. Facebook has never made me feel bad in any way shape or form honestly.
    2. I mean I really don’t car if people have more “fun” than me. It all comes down to what kind of “fun” that these people are having. Overall I could care less.
    3. I did feel left out a few times from socializing and things like that, But i’m not really the social type so I do tend to keep a wall between me and other people at all times.
    4. No I’m not that into social networking. Sometimes I do but not a lot as most of my friends do.
    5. No not really. Everyone has their share of problems so therefore you must deal with your own and live your life accordingly. People must learn not to be envious of what others have or how much “better” their lives our. It all comes down to if you value who you are.

    1, The costs of the Facebook addiction were feeling of inadequacy, it could develop into eating disorders, and the person who is addicted to Facebook usually makes negative comparisons to other. He or she desires the perfect body or wishes they lived the same lifestyle as the other person.
    2. Females are more addicted to Facebook then males because they usually post updates about emotions and relationships then men were.
    3. The author compares Facebook to fashion magazines because its an avenue for young people to compare themselves to others.
    4. I personally feel it all depends on how much confidence a person has within themselves. If he or she gets discouraged it’s because they aren’t comfortable in their own skin. People should embrace who they are. I believe if people would do this and also accept who they are inside and out my generation wouldn’t be so concerned about the looks and the opinions of others. Individuals would be much happier.

  6. tyrellcosten says:

    1) No, Facebook does not make me feel bad.
    2) Sometimes, not often, it makes me feel like others are having more fun. It makes me feel like I’m not being social enough, but I dismiss it because I know my life doesn’t revolve around social media
    3) I do sometimes feel left out. I usually don’t dwell on it because I know that I hang out as well, so I make my own fun. Facebook can make u feel like others are having fun without you
    4) I don’t post things on Facebook as a way to show off my life. I post things to share my experiences with my friends
    5) I do sometimes when I feel bored or upset

    Part II
    1) The true cost was lost of self-esteem and feeling of inadequacy. Addiction to Facebook can cause loss of focus and loss of important priorities.
    2) Females are more impacted because they are more self-conscious about their appearance and what people think of them than males do
    3) The author compares Facebook to fashion magazines because it shares peoples’ pictures and lives. Also many people compare themselves to other over Facebook
    4) The impact my attributional style would impact my self-esteem and self-concept is that I would be positive. I can care less of what people think of me over Facebook

Leave a Reply

